Young Producers

Ages 16 - 29
Price: FREE


The Battersea Arts Centre Young Producers Programme provides talented young people with producing training, including professional masterclasses, workshops and access to resources. 
The Young Producers are given a brief, budget and support to create and produce their own events within Battersea Arts Centre's youth takeover, Homegrown Festival. This is an exciting opportunity to bring out-of-the-box ideas to Battersea Arts Centre, from DJ nights to experimental performances and live debates. 
You will gain an introduction to producing through workshops in scheduling, budgeting, marketing, project management and artist liaison as well as learn from Battersea Arts Centre producers and arts professionals that run a range of events. Previous guest speakers have produced club nights, cabaret socials and independent festivals. 
We are interested in hearing from people with a wide range of interests. You do not need experience to apply. Past Young Producers have included beatboxers, art students, sixth-formers, fashion designers, hairdressers and emerging theatre producers. Several have gone on to produce their own shows professionally, work at Battersea Arts Centre and even start their own events and production companies. 
Battersea Arts Centre asks that the Young Producers programming:
  • Is bold and takes risks
  • Is interesting, exciting and important to the target audience of 12-29 year olds
  • Engages new audiences in the building
  • Includes different people and ideas

Their events can be seen as part of Homegrown Festival 4 - 8 April 2018. 

Who we are looking for:

  • You do not need experience in producing
  • A diverse group with different interests and backgrounds
  • People with interests, initiative, creative spark
  • People who have not studied Producing

Project Dates

Successful candidates are required to attend all sessions without exception. 

Interviews | 13 - 14 Nov
Introduction sessions | 5 Dec 6 - 8:30pm, 12 Dec 6 - 8:30pm
Sessions | Every Tuesday 6 - 8:30pm, 9 Jan - 10 Apr
Young Producers event | Sat 7 Apr


How to apply

Applications are now open, please download and electronically fill out the application form and send it to
Deadline: 10am Monday 6 November 2017


Our 2017 Young Producers are:
Faruq Adigun
Joshua Allen
Stephanie Clarke
Sally Coker
Anthony T.J Donohoe
Vikesh Godhwani Chatlani
Lainie Hussain
Grace Lee
Germane Marvel
Nardia Millington
Omari Okwulu
Maya Ophelia
Louise Russell
Divya Satwani
Arizona Smith
Hazel Tyler
Jet Vevers
Roisin Walsh
Keisha Williams

2016 Alumni:
Anita Barton-Williams
Ben Price
Camille Lesforis
Emilie Labourey
Fey Okege
Johanna Coulson
Kyron Greenwood
Lauren Meredith-Stubbs
Nelson Holtz
Nene Camara
Nicholas Tee
Nik Way
Nyasha Duri